top of page

Portland to Poole Harbour

I spent a day off in Portland to spend some time exploring my old stomping grounds. No trip to Weymouth or Portland would be complete without a visit to the utterly fabulous Crab House Cafe at Ferrybridge. Seriously, if you are ever in the area, it's a must. It's just a wooden hut with old wooden tables and chairs outside, with terrific views of Portland, Chesil Beach and the Fleet, and they serve the tastiest, freshest crab and other seafood. I had half a crab in its shell, with just a chunk of freshly baked bread and a toolkit for tackling the crab. Messy but delicious!

The marina and sailing area was set up for the Olympics in 2012 and the facilities are wonderful. The only downside is that some property speculators seem to have decided it would be a good place to throw up some apartment blocks, one of which has been abandoned half complete. I guess the uptake wasn't as high as they expected.

Look what they've done to my beautiful Portland!

The following day I headed along the spectacular Jurassic Coast to Poole Harbour.

Along the coast near Lulworth

Old Harry off Studland Bay

Rather than going into Poole, I anchored in a quiet spot south of Brownsea Island.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page