top of page

Dover to Swale - and home!


The White Cliffs - slightly pink in the early morning sun

There were gale force winds blowing around the coast over the weekend so I had to leave the boat in Dover until the weather settled down. I went back to the boat on Monday ready for an early start Tuesday morning. It was a gloriously warm and sunny day which started with light winds as I left Dover and fought the tide up to North Foreland at the tip of Thanet using the engine.

Once around North Foreland, the breeze picked up and I hoisted the sails. With the tide now running with me, it was a very pleasant run along the North Kent coast passing Margate, Reculver, Herne Bay and Whitstable. As I approached the entrance to the Swale, I passed the Columbine spit buoy, which I had passed on the way out on my first day. I had completed my circumnavigation!

I arrived back on my berth at Swale marina at 4 pm and took the bus back home.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page